Although most of us probably ignore or delete the stock iPhone apps, there is one that I can’t imagine not having. That’s all there is to the Notes application. The Notes app is a handy digital notepad, whether you’re writing down an idea, setting a reminder, or making a list. You might not know that you can share Notes on iPhone with this software.
Apple has improved and expanded users’ ability to share Notes in recent iOS releases. It is also possible on macOS and iPadOS, extending its utility further. Continue reading to find out how to share notes on iPhone.
How does note sharing work?
But first, let’s look at how this functionality works. After all, can’t you take a screenshot or copy/paste a note to send to someone?
You are technically capable of doing so. However, using the official sharing feature of the Notes app is a preferable option. If you’ve used Google Docs before, you know how this works.
For those who aren’t familiar with real-time document sharing, here’s how it works:
- You allow another user to work on the same note as you. They can then edit it on a different device.
- You’ll view each other’s work in real-time as you edit and add to the note.
- That means every word you input, erase, or change via the internet will also change for them.
When you use this way to exchange Notes on your iPhone or Mac, the experience becomes significantly more collaborative. You can share a list, work on an article together, exchange notes, and do whatever else you can think of
How to share iPhone notes
Using Apple’s shared notes function is a simple and convenient way to exchange information in one location – no additional accounts, apps, complicated spreadsheets, or calendar abilities are required. Here’s an experiment on how to share notes on iPhone:
- Open the Notes app after ensuring your iOS device is up to date.
- By tapping the paper and pencil button in the bottom right corner of your screen, you can share an existing note or make a new one.
- When you’re ready to share a note, hit the three-dot button in the upper right corner of your screen.
- Select your sharing options by tapping “Share Note.” You can send your remark to others via text, email, or social media. You can manually copy and distribute the URL to the note. (Before sending, look through the “Share Options” section, which lets you choose who can change it and add others.)
- After sharing your note, tap the little circle with a person within to control who gets access to it. This control panel shows who is in your notes and records any changes you make.
- You can also create shared folders to keep all your notes in one place. Add a new folder by tapping the folder icon in the lower-left corner of the app’s Folders page (you’ll probably have to swipe out of your Notes list first). Folder sharing functions similarly to single note sharing.